About prerequisites

Common questions about using Actual Installer.
Post Reply
phil
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2021 5:16 am

About prerequisites

Post by phil »

Hello Leo !

I am having an issue in the "Prerequisites" folder.

I need my users to have ANY Adobe Reader version installed on their machine, and I expected Actual Installer to do the job. I therefore checked the Prerequisite Adobe Reader check box, and I selected the old DC 2015.

But the setup.exe is now requesting that DC 2015 must be installed, even if my user already has a more recent version (eg: DC 2020).

What can I do to make sure that "Adobe Reader DC 2015 or above" is installed on my users' machine ?

Thank you so much for your attention !

phil
Attachments
Ruslan_Failure_To_Detect_Adobe.PNG
(114.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Ruslan_Latest_AI_Prerequisites_Setting.PNG
(8.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Leo
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: About prerequisites

Post by Leo »

Hello Phil,

Can you check if the following registry key exists:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\DC\InstallPath

If it exists, look at the (Default) value. There should be the path to the Adobe Reader. Does this folder exist?
Leo,
Actual Installer Team
http://www.actualinstaller.com
phil
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2021 5:16 am

Re: About prerequisites

Post by phil »

Hello Leo !


Thank you for your reply, I was not aware that you had posted this...

Yes, this registry key exists,
And yes, the path to Reader exists.

Screen capture attached

Can this help in detecting whether "Adobe Reader DC 2015 or above" is installed on users' machines ?

Warmest regards,

phil
Attachments
Leo_Reader.PNG
(43.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Leo_Registry.PNG
(19.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Leo
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: About prerequisites

Post by Leo »

All looks good.
That's strange it cannot detect the Adobe reader.

is it possible to download your setup file? (you can send the link to our email).
Leo,
Actual Installer Team
http://www.actualinstaller.com
OZRay
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:40 am

Re: About prerequisites

Post by OZRay »

You can also get subkey of version here: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Adobe Acrobat :)
Post Reply