Installing to multiple Directories

Common questions about using Actual Installer.
MGShikari

Installing to multiple Directories

Post by MGShikari »

I'm pretty new to this so this will most likely be a stupid question.
I have been having a frustrating problem with installing files into multiple Directories my .exe is basically an addon to an already existing program all I'm doing is making it replace files that already exist but I cant seem to get the files to replace in the specific folders only in the user defined folder.
tried many different things on my test machine
what am I doing wrong?
Leo
Site Admin

Re: Installing to multiple Directories

Post by Leo »

Set up the following settings on 'Installation-Upgrade' page:
Mode: Upgrade Older Version
Uninstall old version before installation: no
Do not allow updateing if program is not found: yes
Leo,
Actual Installer Team
https://www.actualinstaller.com
ckenisell

Post by ckenisell »

If I may, I'd like to add a question onto this thread as it somewhat relates.

I have never created an executable and a friend recommended your installer software. My scenario is almost the same as MGShikari's, but I'm not actually overwriting files.

Basically, a program is already installed in Windows. I want to add files to multiple directories, but how do I know that the user installed the original program into the default location? In other words, how does my installer locate where the original program was installed? What if they installed the original program into a custom directory? Yes, I know I just asked the same question three different ways. :)

Can ActualInstaller find where the original program was installed and, if not, how do I direct the installer of MY executable to browse for the original install location? I have several files that need to go into several different directories within the original program's installated location. Can this be done?

Thanks!
Chet
Leo
Site Admin

Post by Leo »