Page 1 of 1

Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2024 1:50 pm
by Jimbo99
Hi,

We are starting Actual Updater (latest version) from within our app. I am running Windows 10 with dual monitors. Our app is running on the first (left) monitor. Every time Actual Updater starts, it displays on the second (right) monitor. That second monitor is labelled "monitor 2" in the Windows settings.

Here is our code for executing Actual Updater:

Code: Select all

ProcessStartInfo startInfo = new ()
{
	WorkingDirectory = DirectoryContainingUpdaterApp,
	FileName = AppUpdaterFilename,
	Arguments = arguments,
	UseShellExecute = true,
	WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Normal
};

Process process = new ()
{
	StartInfo = startInfo
};

_ = process.Start ();
My colleague has a different dual monitor setup (different graphics card, different brand monitors) on Windows 11. The same thing happens on his system - Actual Updater always appears on his second monitor.

Moving Actual Updater to the first monitor and closing it makes no difference - it always starts on the second monitor.

All other applications we run appear on the first monitor.

How can we make Actual Updater appear on the first monitor? Thanks.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2024 6:13 am
by Leo
Hi,
I think the issue is with your system.
Actual Updater uses a standard Windows method to create dialogs.

Please try this:
mark the monitor which you want to open the application as Main Display.
Steps: Display settings - Multiple Displays - Make this my main display
from
https://superuser.com/questions/738081/ ... le-monitor

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2024 7:54 am
by Jimbo99
Hi,

The first display is already set to Main.
Image

As explained, this is happening on two different PCs with completely different setups, and it doesn't happen with other applications. Other applications also remember their position and re-open where they were last displayed. But Actual Updater opens in the same position on the second display every time, even if it has been moved to the first display previously.

Perhaps a command switch could be added to Actual Updater to set its x and y coordinates? Our application knows its windows coordinates and would send them via the command line. That way Actual Updater will appear on top of it. That behaviour would be perfect and would help other customers too.

Thank you.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 4:12 am
by Leo
Thank you for your message.
We will check it, and try to add the feature you suggested.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2024 7:38 am
by Jimbo99
Hi Leo,

That is great, thank you. It would help us very much. We are new users of Actual Installer Pro+ and it seems an excellent product.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2024 3:45 pm
by Leo
We checked it and confirm that it is a bug.
The dialog box appears on the wrong monitor only if there are release notes added (the new dialog is used).
We will fix it as soon as possible.

For now, you may add a parameter -olddialog to the Updater Parameters field.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2024 10:20 pm
by Jimbo99
Hi Leo,

Many thanks for doing that. It is much appreciated!

We look forward to the fix! :)

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2024 6:08 am
by Leo
We have just released a new version of Actual Updater with this issue fixed:
https://www.actualupdater.com/

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 3:22 pm
by Jimbo99
Thanks Leo.

We bought Actual Installer Pro+ a month ago. So I've sent you a request for a download link for Actual Updater Pro.

Re: Dual monitors - Actual Updater always appears on second monitor

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2024 4:18 pm
by Jimbo99
Thanks for the download link, Leo.

It works just right now - both Actual Updater and Actual Downloader open on the active monitor. Thank you! :)