Uninstaller is a program that allows the user to remove the application from the computer. It is recommended to enable uninstaller for your installation (on the Installation / Uninstallation page).
The uninstaller removes files, registry or INI entries, and other items that were created during the installation, and have flag "Remove on uninstall".
The uninstaller file is located in the app's install directory: <InstallDir>\Uninstall.exe (for example, "C:\Program Files\<AppName>\Uninstall.exe").
You may change the Uninstaller file name on the Advanced tab.
It is generally recommended to keep this option selected.
The setup program will register the application in the Windows Registry, and will add it in the Programs and Features list (Installed Apps). For the app's icon you may specify the main executable file, setup icon, or custom icon file. When using the setup or custom icon, an icon file will be included in the installation package with the name "ProductIcon.ico".
NOTE: If this option is not selected, then future update programs will not be able to detect the currently installed version of the application, and updates cannot be installed.
By default, the uninstaller deletes only files and folders that were created during the installation. If the user or your application creates additional files / folders in the installation directory, the uninstaller will not delete them. Select this option to completely delete the app's installation directory on uninstall. This option will override all other uninstall options for files.
By default, Full Uninstallation is not used on reinstall (e.g. the setup program prompts to uninstall the currently installed version of the app before the new installation, see the "If App is Already Installed" option). To make the full uninstall in this case, select "Full Uninstallation", and add the following parameter to the Setup Parameters field: -noreinstallmode (this will not use the Reinstall Mode).
Performs the silent uninstallation (no user interface).
The uninstaller ensures that the application is not running by checking the Main Executable File. If it is running, the uninstaller will prompt the user to close the application.
Enter the Filename (e.g. File.exe) of the app that must not be running before uninstallation. If the App Name is not specified, then the file name will be displayed. The uninstaller will force close it (with no prompt) in the Silent Mode, or when using the "Force Close" option.
If your application creates some files / folders in location different than the Installation Directory, or registry entries (to store the app settings), the uninstaller may prompt the user to remove them after uninstallation. To make it, select this option and in the Command field specify a batch command which will delete the app settings. This option is not performed in the Reinstall Mode (see above).
Examples:
to delete a single file: del /Q "C:\Some File.ini"
to delete a directory with all files and subdirs: rmdir /S /Q "C:\Some Folder"
to delete a registry key: reg delete "HKCU\Software\Company\MyApp" /f
You can obtain quick feedback and bug reports from users who decided to uninstall your application. Just mark this checkbox and specify the "URL". The uninstaller will direct the user to this page during uninstallation. This option is not performed in the Reinstall mode.
Select this checkbox if the uninstaller makes some system changes that require the system to reboot before taking effect.